//
you're reading...
Gaming, General, Reviews

Games I have yet to finish – Okami

One of the games in my “Games I have yet to finish” list was Okami. I played it on the PS2 when it came out and I got pretty far with several hours invested in it but, I can’t remember why, I never got to finish it. When I saw its HD version for free on the Playstation Plus a few months ago I knew I owed to myself to do it. And so I did and it felt amazingly good.

Oki_kutone

Meet Oki – One of the Characters you’ll meet in your travels

100 years in the past, the sun goddess Shiranui, in the form of a pure white wolf, and Nagi, a swordsman, fought the eight headed serpent Orochi to protect Kamiki Village and Nagi’s beloved Nami. Unable to defeat Orochi, they still managed to seal the demon away. 100 years later the seal is broken releasing Orochi and the world is plunged into darkness once again. All seems lost until Sakuya, the wood sprite and guardian of Kamiki Village, summons the sun goddess Amaterasu who the villagers know as the reincarnation of Shiranui. Joined by the wandering inch-high artist Issun (a creature known as a Poncle) the mission is pretty clear, break the curse and restore the land to its former beauty.

The Celestial Brush is Amy’s godly weapon, select it and bring the game to a pause while you call up a canvas to draw the power you want to use, either to restore a part of the land like a broken bridge or to attack and destroy an enemy. In your travels you will meet gods that will grant you new powers to your Celestial Brush and  acquire new weapons, Swords, Rosaries and Reflectors to help you in your battles.

One of the fantastic things about this title is the amount of content you have. Dungeons with amazing and clever boss fights, memorable character encounters, puzzles, Dojos where you will improve your gameplay and so much more all joined by a wonderful soundtrack and beautiful visual effects in a water colour art style. I ended up with over 50 hours of gameplay and I could have had several more if I wanted to complete every side goal in the game (and that’s why I’m in my second playthrough).

OkamiHD11Okami-HD-7-11-01

Visually the game is beautiful, it’s water colour art style goes a long way and the well applied HD makes the game a timeless gem that makes you forget that the game originally came out for the PS2.

Final Thoughts
I would begin by saying, if you remember the great and late Jrpgs or Rpgs or action Rpgs and so forth, but I will not. Instead I will say If you like timeless wonderful games, you owe it to yourself to try Okami. You are in for an amazing and increasingly engaging adventure with a memorable and inspiring ending.

If I had to give it a score it would be:

  • Story: 10
  • Gameplay: 10
  • Sound: 10
  • Visuals: 9

Final Score: 9.8

Here’s a taste of the game’s amazing soundtrack.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Games I have yet to finish – Okami

  1. Played it on PS2. One of my all-time favorites. Wonderful game. I bought the HD version to replay it, but never made the time for it unfortunately.

    Posted by Matthew Thompson | April 25, 2013, 10:45 pm
  2. I also started Okami on the PS2 many moons ago and never finished for some reason I don’t recall… Missed it for free on Playstation Plus, though! It is definitely on my list of games to give another shot, as I did enjoy my time with the game.

    Posted by spatrick1346 | May 13, 2013, 12:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 553 other followers

